Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship Information

abudhabi golf championship main

Teeing off in 2006 and quickly becoming established as a favourite event for players and spectators alike, the now named Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship is now one of the biggest events on the PGA European Tour, regularly attracting some of golf’s most famous names.

Since its inception by Abu Dhabi Tourism Authority (ADTA), it has been staged at the sublime Abu Dhabi Golf Club as part of the Tour’s Gulf Swing and with the emirate now boasting three championship ready courses, the championship’s future looks very bright.

The championship’s ongoing success is laying the foundations for Abu Dhabi’s emergence as a international golfing destination. Playing to a cumulative global television audience of 400 million, the championship is inextricably linked with the building of Abu Dhabi’s tourism profile as an international destination of distinction, and is integral in putting the emirate firmly on the international sporting map.

The championship consistently attracts a world-class field of the game’s top international stars, including winners Chris DiMarco, Paul Casey and Martin Kaymer. Even Tour legend Gary Player has joined the Abu Dhabi field. In 2010, eight of the world’s top 14 players competed, and Ryder Cup winners such as Sergio Garcia, Colin Montgomerie, Ian Poulter and Lee Westwood have all participated.

Now, as part of a five-year partnership with HSBC, the world’s local bank, the event’s prize fund rises to US $2.7 million – an increase of US $500,000 – making it the richest purse of the Gulf Swing. The partnership ushers in a new era for the championship and golf in Abu Dhabi, and ADTA is committed to hosting the event’s most impressive playing field. The authority also plans to mount its most expansive spectator offering of improved facilities and attractions.

Abu Dhabi Golf Club is a world-class sporting facility and demonstrates the UAE capital’s ability to build top-tier venues for renowned international events. With enhanced spectator platforms to promote true ‘up-close viewing’, a substantially expanded championship village with even more attractions, restaurants, cafes and competitions, the Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship is one of the most fan-friendly competitions on the map.

2006 – Chris d Marco
2007 – Paul Casey
2008 – Martin Kaymer
2009 – Paul Casey
2010 – Martin Kaymer
2011 – Martin Kaymer
2012 - Robert Rock
2013 - Jamie Donaldson